What happens after a Florida Keys politician resigns


Monroe County Commissioners in official photo. Eddie Martinez, second from left, resigned Tuesday, December 7, 2021, following his arrest a week earlier for domestic violence. Also pictured are Commissioner Holly Raschein, Mayor David Rice, Pro Mayor Tem Craig Cates and Commissioner Michelle Coldiron.

Now that Eddie Martinez has resigned from the Monroe County Commission in the Florida Keys, what happens next with his seat on the platform?

Martinez announced on Tuesday he was stepping down to deal with “health concerns.” The decision comes a week after his arrest on November 30 for domestic violence in Hialeah.

For now, Governor Ron DeSantis will choose his interim successor from a pool of candidates applying for the Martinez District 3 seat, which covers the Old Town section of Key West. Interested candidates can apply on the governor’s website.

Will the Interim Commissioner serve the remainder of the term that ends in November 2024?

Not necessarily. There will be a general election next year which coincides with the regular electoral cycle. That is to say a primary in August and a general election in November. DeSantis’ nomination can run in the special election, governor’s spokeswoman Christina Pushaw said. Whoever wins this race will serve until 2024.

Until a replacement is chosen, where can voters in District 3 go with questions, concerns or needs?

Monroe spokeswoman Kristen Livengood said voters can contact departmental staff Where one of the four other commissioners.

Do Monroe County Commissioners Receive an Annual Salary?

Commissioners are paid $ 50,348 per year.

Is District 3 the only seat that will be in the 2022 general election?

There’s another interim commissioner sitting on the platform. In September, District 5 Commissioner Mike Forster died of complications from COVID-19. DeSantis has appointed Holly Raschein, former representative of the State of the Keys to the legislature, to replace Forster. Forster’s tenure was also due to end in November 2024.

This means that four of the five seats in the Monroe County Council district will run for office in 2022, the year for governorate in Florida. This is because the commissioners sit for staggered terms of four years. Elections for Districts 2 and 4 normally coincide with the governor’s race, Livengood said. The terms of whoever wins these races will end in 2026.

The run for District 1, which also represents the city of Key West, was decided in 2020, along with Districts 3 and 5. Commissioner Craig Cates represents District 1, and his term is expected to end in 2024.

David Goodhue covers the Florida Keys and South Florida for FLKeysNews.com and the Miami Herald. Prior to joining the Herald, he covered Congress, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the Department of Energy in Washington, DC. He graduated from the University of Delaware.

Source link

Comments are closed.